GPCC Announces 2016 Small Business Excellence Awards Winners

PHILADELPHIA, PA, August 3, 2015 – For their exceptional leadership, ingenuity and positive impact on the region, eight companies and two individuals have been selected by The Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce (GPCC) as winners of the 2016 Excellence Awards. The winners represent small businesses in one of 10 industries or categories and will receive their awards on November 5, 2015.

The Visionary Award is also given to an organization headquartered in Greater Philadelphia that has earned national and/or international recognition for its product or service, and has contributed to the growth and success of the small business community. This year’s Visionary Award will be presented to the University City Science Center. The award is sponsored by Stradley Ronon.

“Each of this year’s recipients models how organizations can make a difference, contribute to the region’s economy and be outstanding leaders in their respective fields,” said GPCC President and CEO Rob Wonderling. “The Chamber is proud to honor their hard work, innovation and creativity through the Excellence Awards.”


Nominated by their peers throughout the 11-county region, the award winners are:

Customer Service Excellence of the Year: Henry A. Davidsen, Master Tailors and Image Consultants

Family-Owned Business of the Year: Brownstein Group 

Manufacturer of the Year: Acme Corrugated

Non-Profit Organization of the Year: Hopeworks N Camden

Professional Services Excellence of the Year: KieranTimberlake 

Retailer of the Year: HubBub Coffee

Small Business Person of the Year: Chris Cera, Arcweb Technologies

Sustainable Services Excellence of the Year: Bennett Compost

Technological Excellence of the Year: BuLogics, Inc.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Amy Voloshin, Printfresh


This year’s awardees join the ranks of many notable past winners, including, Wash Cycle Laundry, LevLane, Yards Brewing Company, Di Bruno Brothers, PA General Store and The Hub.  You can see all of the past winners on the Excellence Awards website.

The 2016 Excellence Awards are sponsored by PIDC, Stradley Ronon, Saint Joseph University’s Initiative for Family Business and Entrepreneurship, and TD Bank.

The event celebrating the 33rd Annual Excellence Award winners will be held on Thursday evening, November 5, 2015, at the Crystal Tea Room in Center City, Philadelphia and will feature gourmet food and beverage along with high-level networking.  For more information or to register, visit: You can follow the Excellence Awards and the Chamber on social media through #GPCCExAwards and @phillychamber.  


About the Excellence Awards
In 1982, the Chamber created the program known today as the Excellence Awards, honoring the region’s small businesses. The awards showcase the impact and vital role that small businesses play in the overall economic development of the Greater Philadelphia region. Award winners set themselves apart from the competition and are outstanding representatives of the diversity of our region’s business community.

Each year, businesses are recognized for their creativity, vitality, stability and relevance. Winners are nominated by their regional business peers based on their demonstrated commitment to the advancement of the business community. Equally important in selecting winners are civic involvement and responsiveness, corporate responsibility, employee recognition and concerns regarding service issues.

Over the years, the scope of the Excellence Awards has grown with the help of the Small Business Board. The Small Business Board has created new initiatives and categories, increased involvement in the nomination process, and established criteria for measuring and defining excellence.


Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce
As the premier advocate for the business community, the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce works to attract, retain and grow jobs for companies and residents of the region. We represent member companies in southeastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and northern Delaware.


Media Contact: Kate Hagedorn, 215-790-3831,


Comments are closed